EC2, Ubuntu, and Rails

05Mar07

Needing a place to ferret index over 3.5 million records, my options were to either run my macbook at 100% cpu for the whole weekend or pay some change to amazon for use of their ec2. I chose the latter and have been extremely impressed. Following the guides at amazon, I had Marcin’s base ubuntu image up and running in in a few minutes. Sweet, I’ll be ferreting in no time. However, all joy vanished when an apt-get install mysql failed repeatedly.

An install of mysql on ubuntu should be rock solid by now, I thought. But I kept getting the error and even worse it would not let me remove the package to start over.

After much digging and dismay, I found out that the loopback interface did not start with the instance. Therefore the solution is simply to

1) sudo ifup lo
or
2) change the bind address in /etc/mysql/my.cnf to the public facing ip address.

Once done, the apt install completed and all was well. Now back to ferreting.

No Responses Yet to “EC2, Ubuntu, and Rails”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

